Are Sprinkles Gluten Free?

Sprinkles are the best way to bring color and fun to your favorite baking. But Are Sprinkles Gluten-Free? And are they safe for people with celiac disease? Below, we look into which brands are safe to eat, what to look out for, and more.

A photo looking into a jar of rainbow sprinkles on a green and white background with text that says "Are Sprinkles Gluten Free?"

Most Sprinkles are Gluten-Free

Most sprinkles do not contain gluten. These small, colorful confectionaries mostly contain sugar, coloring, and waxes, whether we’re talking rainbow sprinkles, jimmies, nonpareils, and others. This makes many sprinkles naturally gluten-free.

However, some sprinkles and their ingredients can occasionally come into contact with gluten during the manufacturing process. If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, this is when knowledge is power! As you probably know already, gluten can hide in surprising foods, and this can sometimes include sprinkles. 

So, let’s get into which sprinkles are safe, what to look out for, and some other common questions surrounding gluten-free sprinkles.

Related: Are Marshmallows Gluten Free?

A blue spoon filled with rainbow sprinkles.

Ingredients in Sprinkles

If you look at the back of most sprinkles labels, you’ll see that many brands contain similar ingredients. These often include sugar, cornstarch, coloring, confectioner’s glaze, carnauba wax, as well as natural and artificial flavors. Usually, these ingredients are naturally gluten-free.

How Are Sprinkles Made? 

All of the ingredients above are formed into a dough and then pressed into long, narrow strands, a bit like angel hair pasta. After the colorful strands dry, they get broken into tiny pieces to form “sprinkles”. These sprinkles are then glazed and waxed to preserve their bright colors.

A container of fresh strawberries, a bowl of rainbow sprinkles, and a bowl of white chocolate candy melts

Which Brands of Sprinkles are Gluten Free?

When shopping for sprinkles, if you’re celiac or gluten-sensitive, it’s best to look for brands explicitly labeled “gluten-free.” While some sprinkles products may not list any suspect ingredients, certain brands won’t label their products as gluten-free due to possible cross-contact during manufacturing.

The good news is, there are plenty of sprinkle brands out there that ARE 100% safe to eat! You’ll find lots of options for gluten-free sprinkles of all shapes and sizes. It’s safe to assume that these products did not come into contact with wheat or gluten, with trace amounts that are below 20 parts per million (PPM).

Let’s have a look at some popular sprinkle brands to establish which ones are safe for gluten intolerances and celiacs, and which ones aren’t. Of course, always double-check labels, though, as formulations can change.

Betty Crocker

According to the company website, Betty Crocker rainbow nonpareils are gluten-free and “Produced on a dedicated line that does not process peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, milk or eggs”. 


Sweetapolita has a variety of sprinkle medleys. According to their FAQ section, their gluten-free sprinkles “contain no gluten as an ingredient and are suitable for those with Celiac disease.”

Cake Mate

Cake Mate state that “None of our products contain wheat or gluten” in their company FAQs. This includes their sprinkles, which are gluten-free.


This popular baking brand does mention whether their products contain wheat ingredients, however, they do not label their sprinkles gluten-free. For this reason, it’s likely that Wilton sprinkles are manufactured alongside products containing wheat or gluten, and may not be safe to eat.

Grocery Store Brands

Grocery store sprinkles from the likes of Kroger, Target, and Walmart True Value brands don’t offer loads of information when it comes to their products’ allergens status. While they don’t list gluten-containing ingredients on their labels, many grocery store sprinkles also don’t state that they are gluten-free. In this case, it’s safest to assume that these brands are produced on shared lines.

A frosted cake with the edges decorated with sprinkles.

Things to Look Out For

Most sprinkles do not contain wheat, barley, or rye ingredients, which makes them naturally gluten-free. Whether they make it onto the list of gluten-free foods, however, depends on how they’re manufactured.

When looking at labels, keep an eye out for “red flags” such as “may contain…” and “produced in the same facility as…” as these can be indicators that your sprinkles shared production lines with potential allergens. Also, since allergen statements tend to be voluntary, some brands may not even disclose this information. 

All of this can make shopping for gluten-free sprinkles a challenge! Unless a product has a “gluten-free” claim on the label, it’s tricky knowing whether or not your funfetti is safe to eat by the packaging alone. If you’re unsure, it’s worthwhile to consult a company’s website for more information, or your doctor.

A glass jar of rainbow sprinkles.

Sprinkles FAQs

Do sprinkles contain gluten?

Most do not. However, some baking sprinkles may come into contact with gluten throughout the production process. For this reason, make sure that you check those labels!

Are there any certified gluten-free sprinkles?

There currently are no sprinkle brands that are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) or a similar organization. It’s left to the manufacturer to verify that their products are gluten-free.

Can celiacs eat sprinkles?

Yes, most sprinkles don’t contain gluten and are considered safe for someone with celiac disease. Due to the risks of cross-contact, however, it’s best to stick with brands that are labeled gluten-free.

Rainbow sprinkles are folded into the gluten-free cake batter.

Ways To Use Sprinkles

Of course, you can use sprinkles to bring a pop of color to your next Birthday Cake. But there are plenty of other ways that you can bring sprinkles into the mix, too. I’ve included some ideas below, and scroll for even more easy recipes that you can make using your favorite gluten-free sprinkles!

  • Make homemade funfetti cookies by mixing sprinkles into Sugar Cookie Dough.
  • Fill your favorite Gluten-Free Cupcakes with sprinkles for piñata cupcakes!
  • Mix sprinkles into pancakes or waffles for a fun breakfast treat.
  • Make these chocolate-dipped Almond Crescents and dunk the ends into sprinkles before the chocolate dries.
  • Decorate donuts by sprinkling some over the chocolate glaze when you bake Gluten Free Chocolate Donuts.

Plus, try these fun(fetti) gluten-free recipes with sprinkles!

A slice of gluten free funfetti cake on a blue plate next to a fork, with the whole cake in the background.

Gluten Free Funfetti Cake

A funfetti cake made for a celebration! This classic gluten-free birthday cake is bursting at its frosted seams with bright, colorful sprinkles.
Get The Recipe
A wooden spoonful of birthday cake ice cream topped with colored sprinkles.

Gluten Free Birthday Cake Cookie Dough

All the birthday cake flavors we love, all rolled up into the BEST gluten-free edible cookie dough recipe! This birthday cake cookie dough is jam-packed with sprinkles and white chocolate, and is 100% safe to eat.
Get The Recipe
No-Churn Birthday Cake Ice Cream in a green polka dot bowl on top of a colorful striped cloth napkin.

No-Churn Funfetti Cake Batter Ice Cream

Make creamy funfetti ice cream without an ice cream maker with this easy no-churn recipe. This homemade cake batter ice cream tastes just like a birthday cake, with loads of vanilla flavor and a rainbow of sprinkles throughout.
Get The Recipe
No-Churn Funfetti Ice Cream Cake

Funfetti Ice Cream Cake

Another favorite for birthdays, this cool and creamy homemade ice cream cake is totally gluten-free, and totally filled with rainbow sprinkles!
Get The Recipe
rainbow sprinkles covering a white chocolate dipped strawberry

Funfetti White Chocolate Strawberries

A dip in sprinkles makes your basic chocolate-covered strawberries so much more fun. And you can choose the colors and shapes of your sprinkles to match any holiday or special occasion.
Get The Recipe

More Gluten Free Resources