Have you ever wondered Is Butter Gluten Free? when you start baking a cake or a batch of cookies? In general, yes, butter is gluten free! To learn more about this cooking staple, read my post below.
If you’re any kind of baker, you probably rely on butter to give your cupcakes and cookies the fat they need to turn out tasting oh-so good. Butter is also a backbone ingredient in savory dishes, from rich pastas like Gluten Free Fettuccine Alfredo to mashed potatoes. If you’ve worried or wondered, is butter gluten free? I’m here to put your fears to rest.
Butter in its natural state is entirely gluten-free. The ingredients in butter traditionally include cream or milk and, if you’re buying salted butter, salt. These are all naturally gluten-free, meaning that butter is also gluten-free.
Still, it’s always a good idea to check ingredient labels before buying a product. You can read more about How to Read Food Labels for a Gluten Free Diet to help guide you through this process.
Plain butter does not contain gluten. Where things get a little bit complicated is if you buy flavored butter. Some butter will have seasonings or flavorings added to it, and unless the product is labeled as “certified gluten-free” or “gluten-free” it’s impossible to know if any cross-contamination occurred during the manufacturing process.
Similarly, if you are at a restaurant and are served seasoned butter you should ask if the butter is gluten-free or if it has come into contact with any gluten-containing ingredients in the kitchen. If so, you’ll want to skip the butter.
Look for plain butter in the major brand labels, including Land O’ Lakes, Horizon Organic, Tillamook, Chrystal Farms, Kerrygold, and Organic Valley, just to name a few. Make sure to choose plain or plain unsalted butter varieties to ensure that they are gluten-free.
Most brands of margarine, commonly used as a non-dairy butter substitute, do not contain any gluten. But it’s a good idea to check the ingredient label and note if there is any wording about the product not being suitable for those on a gluten-free diet.
Movie popcorn butter, like regular butter, should also be gluten-free. But ask before purchasing a bag of movie popcorn just to make sure.
If you have celiac disease, you can eat butter unless you are also dairy-intolerant. If you are newly diagnosed and working on healing your intestines your doctor will probably advise you to skip dairy for a while, then slowly introduce it back to see how you react to it. As always, consult with your doctor if you make any dietary changes.
Welcome to Cupcakes & Kale Chips, where I share gluten free recipes & kid-tested family favorites!