During the Halloween season and beyond you may ask yourself Are Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Gluten Free? Here’s everything you need to know about this classic candy. Find out if it’s safe for those on a gluten-free diet.
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are, happily, gluten-free! According to the Hershey’s website – the company that makes Reese’s candy – all varieties of Reese’s are gluten-free except for seasonal varieties. Hershey states that they are in accordance with U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations that require foods labeled “gluten-free” to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.
Hershey’s keeps a running list of gluten-free products on their website and assures consumers that the products identified as being gluten-free have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards established by the FDA.
It’s still a good idea to check on Hershey’s website periodically to see if the list has been updated and if any candies have been removed. And it’s always prudent to read ingredient labels to make sure there are no gluten ingredients in products you’re purchasing. My post on How to Read Food Labels for a Gluten-Free Diet is a great resource for how to check products for gluten.
If you do a quick check of the ingredient lists on seasonal-shaped Reese’s, you won’t see any gluten or gluten-containing ingredients. Unfortunately, seasonal Reese’s can’t be considered gluten-free because they’re made in a facility that also produces products containing gluten ingredients. This means there’s a risk of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process, so it’s best to avoid seasonal-shaped Reese’s to be on the safe side.
For a festive alternative, try Homemade Reese’s Eggs for Easter!
Reese’s candies, with the exception of seasonally shaped Reese’s, are celiac-friendly. Hershey’s notes on its website that specific products, including Reese’s peanut butter cups and bars, are gluten-free according to U.S. standards. Those with celiac should feel safe eating Reese’s candies so long as they avoid the seasonal varieties.
Reese’s mini cups, just like the regular cup varieties, are also gluten free.
In general, the ingredients that are a gluten red flag, particularly in candy, is wheat flour or malt. Other ingredients you should scan ingredients lists for include:
Welcome to Cupcakes & Kale Chips, where I share gluten free recipes & kid-tested family favorites!